

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE PROVISIONS OF THE PUBLIC HEALTH AMENDMENT (REGISTERED NURSES IN NURSING HOMES) BILL 2020

Inquiry into the provisions of the Public Health Amendment (Registered Nurses in Nursing Homes) Bill 2020

TERMS OF REFERENCE

That a select committee be established to inquire into and report on the provisions of the Public Health Amendment (Registered Nurses in Nursing Homes) Bill 2020, and in particular:

- (a) the need to have a registered nurse on duty at all times in nursing homes and other aged care facilities with residents who require a high level of residential care,
- (b) the impact registered nurses have on the safety and dignity of people in care,
- (c) the impact on residential care of a lack of registered nursing staff on duty in a nursing home or other aged care facility at all times,
- (d) the need for further regulation and minimum standards of care and appropriate staffing levels in nursing homes and other aged care facilities,
- (e) the administration, procurement, storage and recording of medication by non-registered nurses in nursing homes and other aged care facilities with residents who require a high level of residential care, as compared with hospital clinical settings,
- (f) the potential for cost-shifting onto other parts of the public health system as a result of any legislative change to the current provisions for care in nursing homes or other aged care facilities,
- (g) the role of registered nurses in responding to critical incidents and preventing unnecessary hospital admissions and unnecessary ambulance call outs and the consequent effect of this upon the provision of ambulance services to the wider community,
- (h) the lessons that can be learnt in New South Wales from the impact of the COVID-19 crisis on private aged care facilities where staffing ratios are not mandated, and
- (i) any other related matter.

Committee membership

The Hon Courtney Houssos MLC	Australian Labor Party	(Chair)
The Hon Mark Banasiak MLC	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party	(Deputy Chair)
Ms Abigail Boyd MLC	The Greens	
The Hon Greg Donnelly MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Wes Fang MLC	The Nationals	
The Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC	Liberal Party	
The Hon Taylor Martin MLC	Liberal Party	
The Hon Daniel Mookhey MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Mark Pearson MLC	Animal Justice Party	